The Team

Management Structure


The OpenSpace Trust is an independent organisation which is a Scottish Charity under Scottish Charity Number SC036920 and a Guarantee Company under Company Number SC292077. The management of the Trust is by a Board, three of whom are appointed and the remainder are elected at the Annual General Meeting. Elected members serve for three years and are normally eligible to serve two further terms. Meetings of the Board are held quarterly. The work of the Board is supported by an Administration Group and smaller ad hoc committees as required.  The Project Leader coordinates all the work of the Trust.  All Board member are volunteers and are not remunerated for their services.


Board Members
Forbes McCallum DL  (Chairman)

Retired lecturer from the Aberdeen Business School at The Robert Gordon University and a former local government councillor.  A Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development.

Arthur Winfield BEM has been Project Leader since 2004

Retired academic pharmacist with experience at The Robert Gordon University (32 years) and University of Kuwait (3 years).  Has edited and written undergraduate textbooks and research publications and has many years of experience running research grants.

Alastair McRobb

Retired teacher and former Community and City Councillor.  Living in the country he has served ten years as the local Hall Convenor and been involved with local drama groups, including the Passion Play to celebrate the millennium.

Jim Merrilees

Retired in 2005 after 30 years in teaching (last 22 years as Principal Teacher of English and Depute Head Teacher in Northfield Academy).  Served for 7 years as Synod Clerk to the United Reformed Church in Glasgow, Scotland.

William Ross

A Graduate of the Open University with over 30 years’ service with Shell UK Ltd in various IT roles.  An Aberdonian and former Session Clerk of the Kirk of St Nicholas Uniting his interests including Aberdeen Heritage, photography and music.

Revd James C.  Stewart

Retired minister who came to Aberdeen from Glasgow, his native city, in 1974.  Minister at St Nicholas, 1974-2000, Chairman of Aberdeen Endowments Trust, 2002-2010.

Sarah Stuart

Is admitted as a solicitor in both Scotland and in England and Wales and is dual qualified in English and Scots Law.  She is a partner with Scottish legal firm, Ledingham Chalmers specialising in construction and commercial litigation.  She is the current chair of the Northern Chapter of the Scottish Branch of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators.

Revd Stephen Taylor

Minister of the Kirk of St Nicholas Uniting.  Represents Aberdeen Presbytery on the OpenSpace Trust.  He is active in civic life and is a Governor of Robert Gordon’s College.

Hazel Thom

Retired clinical biochemist and Senior Lecturer in Aberdeen University Department of Child Health.  Represents the Kirk of St Nicholas Uniting on the Open Space Trust.